School’s out for the summer…….

Out for summer
Out till fall
We might not come back at all

Alice Cooper said this song was inspired by “the best three minutes of your life”…the moments before the bell rings on the last day of school. A day he said it felt like anything might happen and a whole summer of possibilities was ahead of you.

I agree, Mr. Cooper, and these amazing three minutes might be why I’ve never left academia!  The end of this obnoxiously long and ridiculously snowy school year has inspired me to think big and bold and plan a new challenge and adventure for myself!  This summer I’m combining my love of the Ice Age Trail, Wisconsin State Natural Areas and running by training for the Glacial Trail 50K run scheduled for Oct. 13th.
http://www.badgerlandstriders.org/home/Races/GlacialTrail50M50K.htm

I’ll be using a modified version of Hal Higdon’s Novice II marathon training plan along with weight training and some hill running.  I’ll also be recording my diet on myfitnesspal and working to avoid jelly beans and tortilla chips.  If you see me, please don’t give me food (also because I always request the shirts I get from races one-size-too-small and I want this one to fit!) .  To keep myself on track, I’ll be blogging my training progress (and other summer fun!) on this blog.

I’m so excited to get started training (I have the entire season 2 of Zombie Run on deck for this summer!)  and most of all I’m especially grateful to live in Wisconsin where we have the opportunity  to use and enjoy at so many beautiful locations across the state fIMG_1863or this type of activity.

1 thought on “School’s out for the summer…….

Leave a comment